Comparing stem cell therapy cost in Florida, Mexico, Panama, Colombia, or the Dominican Republic starts with a question the price alone cannot answer: What is actually in the vial?
Imagine receiving three quotes for “stem cell therapy.” The prices look similar. The descriptions sound similar. The products are anything but.
One involves concentrating material from your own bone marrow. Another uses processed umbilical-cord tissue. A third delivers a measured population of living mesenchymal stromal cells grown under controlled laboratory conditions.
You would ask questions if three mechanics quoted the same price for an oil change, an engine rebuild, and a replacement engine. In regenerative medicine, patients are routinely asked to compare equally different things under the same two words: stem cells.
That is why the first question should be “What am I buying?” The price comes next.
Stem cell therapy cost: advertised prices by destination
Here are examples from providers’ own websites, checked September 22, 2026. These are advertised offers, not national averages, equivalent treatments, or a ranking of clinical quality. Prices are in U.S. dollars.
| Region and treatment | Published price | What the published offer describes |
|---|---|---|
| United States: autologous platelet injection (PRP) | From about $800 per joint | Concentrated platelets prepared from the patient's own blood. PRP is not a cell-based product. [1] |
| United States: adipose-derived preparation with PRP | $7,000 to $8,000 per region. $10,000 to $12,000 for multiple regions | Prepared from the patient's own fat tissue and combined with PRP. Published pricing in this category does not usually state a viable cell dose. [2] |
| Mexico: intravenous allogeneic MSC | From about $4,000 | Cell counts are sometimes advertised, commonly around 100 million expanded cells from cord or placental tissue. Transfers are often included. Accommodation is usually priced separately. [3] |
| Panama: cord-derived MSC program | From about $26,900 | Ground transportation and hotel accommodation are often bundled into the published starting price. A fixed cell dose is not usually specified. [4] |
| Colombia: individualized MSC program | From about $18,500 | Cost varies with cell quantity and the procedures included. Starting prices in this category do not usually define a standardized dose or a complete travel package. [5] |
| Dominican Republic: OmniStem, Punta Cana | $4,500 to $25,000, depending on the program | Physician-designed protocols. Price reflects the condition treated, the biologics used, the procedures performed, and the supportive care included. Every patient receives an itemized quote before travel. [6] |
The useful finding is the overlap. Traveling abroad does not automatically mean paying less. Staying in the United States does not automatically mean receiving an equivalent biologic. And a lower price, by itself, does not prove poor quality.
Local operating costs, the extent of treatment, efficient manufacturing, branding, and hospitality can all affect the bill. The comparison only becomes meaningful when you know which of those you are paying for.
Autologous stem cell treatments: what “from your own body” means
Autologous means the material comes from you. In a bone-marrow aspirate concentrate procedure, often called BMAC, clinicians collect marrow and concentrate a mixed population of cells and other components. This is different from isolating and expanding a defined MSC population. Fat-derived preparations vary with their processing, too.
There are legitimate reasons to consider autologous approaches. They avoid an unrelated donor and can be delivered locally without international travel. PRP also deserves its own evaluation: it is a platelet treatment, and calling it “stem cells” misdescribes what it contains. A well-chosen local treatment can offer excellent value for a particular patient.
But a large count of total cells in marrow or fat does not establish a large count of viable, identified MSCs. Ask what was measured and what clinical evidence supports the proposed treatment. The age and condition of the source tissue deserve a closer look, too. [7] [26]
“0 km” biology: how source tissue affects cell quality
A centrifuge can concentrate cells. It cannot turn adult tissue into neonatal tissue.
Umbilical-cord tissue collected at birth offers a neonatal starting population. Cells obtained from an older patient’s marrow or fat come from tissue that has experienced decades of aging and exposure to that person’s physiological environment. That is the useful meaning of “0 km”: the biological history of the starting material. It does not mean an expanded vial contains cells that have never divided, or that every adult cell is literally as old as the patient.
There is a scientific reason to care. A human bone-marrow study found age-associated increases in oxidative damage and cellular-aging markers, alongside reduced MSC fitness. Aging can affect the raw material a clinician has to work with; simply collecting and concentrating it does not establish that those changes have been reversed. [26]
Direct comparisons also show a practical advantage for cord-derived cells. In one study using 18 Wharton’s jelly donors and 18 bone-marrow donors, the cord-derived MSC population doubled in about 1.9 days versus 3.9 days for the marrow-derived population at passage 2. That is evidence of greater expansion capacity under those laboratory conditions – a useful property when manufacturing a defined cell dose. It is not a claim that patients heal twice as fast. [27]
Research specifically on perivascular cord cells has also found greater proliferation and faster development of a bone-forming phenotype than adult marrow MSCs in culture. This adds a tissue-specific basis for their regenerative potential, while remaining laboratory evidence rather than a demonstrated advantage in patient recovery. [34]
The regenerative rationale goes beyond growing more cells. MSCs are studied for signals that regulate inflammation and influence the environment in which repair occurs. A separate comparison found that a particular cord-tissue MSC preparation suppressed lymphocyte activity and promoted regulatory T cells more strongly than the tested marrow MSCs. This is evidence that the source and manufacturing process can produce meaningful functional differences, although that preclinical study does not establish superiority of every cord-derived product. [29]
The attraction of neonatal UC-MSCs is therefore a youthful starting population, substantial expansion capacity, and immune-regulating activity demonstrated in laboratory studies. A qualified manufacturer can select and characterize a donor-cell bank without depending on what can be harvested from an individual older patient. [27] [29]
The laboratory still has to deliver on that potential. Donor-age effects vary across studies, and extended culture can impair cells from either source. “Allogeneic” simply means another person supplied the cells; the word itself says nothing about their age or potency. The value lies in the combination of neonatal sourcing, controlled expansion, documented function, and evidence for the proposed treatment. [27] [28]
Umbilical-cord products: why the label needs laboratory proof
Umbilical-cord marketing poses a different problem. Cord blood, cord tissue matrix, and culture-expanded cord-derived MSCs are different products. Shared origin does not make them interchangeable.
A 2026 laboratory study examined six commercial Wharton’s jelly matrix specimens and reported total-cell viability ranging from 0% to 19.1%, with only rare viable MSCs. That is a real reason to ask for evidence before paying for an advertised living-cell treatment. It is not a survey of every product: the study was small, tested composition rather than patient outcomes, and its authors disclosed industry employment or consulting relationships with its funders. [8]
Nor does that finding mean every frozen cell product is poor. FDA-approved Ryoncil – a different, bone-marrow-derived MSC product for a specific pediatric transplant complication – is supplied frozen. Processing, storage, thawing, and release testing matter more than a blanket “fresh versus frozen” slogan. [9]
The label names the material. The laboratory results tell you what is actually there.
Expanded UC-MSCs: biological rationale and clinical evidence
Umbilical-cord mesenchymal stromal cells, or UC-MSCs, can be isolated from donated cord tissue and multiplied in culture. This allows a manufacturer to build a characterized cell bank and prepare a specified cell population without harvesting marrow or fat from the patient.
Their immune-regulating capacity adds another dimension to the value of a characterized neonatal cell bank.
A quieter immune profile – and an active signaling role
The immune system does not respond to every donor cell in the same way. Researchers studying UC-MSCs have found that, under baseline laboratory conditions, they lack HLA-DR and certain costimulatory molecules – the combination of signals that helps activate T cells. They can also restrain activated T-cell responses. That combination of relatively low immunogenicity and active immune modulation helps explain the interest in using cells from a screened donor. [24]
There is evidence specifically for cells isolated from the tissue around the cord’s blood vessels, called perivascular cells. In a laboratory study, these cells reduced lymphocyte proliferation and markers of T-cell activation. Some suppression persisted even when a membrane kept the cells apart, showing that released, soluble signals contributed to the effect. [23]
Think of living MSCs as responsive signaling stations. They can interact with immune cells and release molecules that influence other cells’ behavior. This communication through released signals is the paracrine effect. It is a reason researchers study MSCs as a way to influence the inflammatory environment surrounding damaged tissue. Their potential value lies in what those signals can do. [23] [24]
For patients, the practical appeal is access to a characterized, banked donor-cell preparation without undergoing their own marrow or fat harvest. The scientific appeal is the possibility of delivering cells that are relatively weak triggers of T-cell activation while capable of regulating immune activity. These properties support the rationale for donor-derived treatment; they do not by themselves establish a clinical benefit or an advantage over autologous treatment. [23] [24]
The phrase “immune privileged” needs care, however. It does not mean immune-invisible, incapable of provoking a response, or guaranteed to survive long enough to deliver a particular effect. Inflammatory conditions can change the cells’ immune characteristics. Research in graft-versus-host disease also shows that the recipient’s clearance of MSCs can itself help produce immune modulation. Persistence and activity are not the same thing, and “no T-cell response” is too absolute. [24] [25]
For a value comparison, ask the next question: What testing shows that this manufacturer’s cells retain the biological activity being advertised? Perivascular origin, a high viability percentage, and a large cell count each describe something useful. None substitutes for appropriate functional testing and relevant clinical evidence. [22]
Autoimmune disease: why a healthy donor can matter
For autoimmune conditions, the quality of immune signaling is central to the rationale. The patient’s own MSCs are not automatically the best starting material simply because they are autologous.
In a small study comparing six people with lupus with six healthy controls, the patients’ marrow MSCs grew more slowly, showed signs of premature cellular aging, and produced a more inflammatory mix of signals with reduced immunomodulatory cytokine production. That is a concrete example of how disease can affect the cells being considered for treatment. It does not establish the same defect in every autoimmune condition or every patient. [30]
This provides a rationale for selecting cells from a healthy donor, including a screened neonatal cord source: the manufacturer can evaluate a cell bank independently of the patient’s disease-affected tissue. Coupled with evidence of immune-regulating activity, that is a substantive reason to consider donor-derived UC-MSCs. The “right signals” must be demonstrated through relevant functional testing; they cannot be inferred from the allogeneic label alone. [22,29,30]
Autologous MSCs also have immunomodulatory potential. Clinical results are mixed: a small randomized multiple-sclerosis trial reported short-term benefit, while the larger 144-patient MESEMS trial did not meet its primary MRI efficacy endpoint. These studies used culture-expanded MSCs; a routine same-day marrow or fat procedure cannot assume the same properties or outcomes. [31,32]
The same evidentiary standard applies to donor cells. A small randomized lupus-nephritis trial found no added benefit from its UC-MSC protocol over standard immunosuppressive treatment. Healthy neonatal sourcing is a compelling biological and manufacturing rationale; clinical effectiveness still has to be demonstrated for the specific product, condition, and protocol. [33]
What the joint-treatment studies actually show
There is encouraging clinical evidence. A small randomized knee-osteoarthritis trial found better pain and function outcomes with repeated UC-MSC dosing than with hyaluronic acid at one year. It did not demonstrate an MRI advantage. A larger, 480-patient trial comparing bone-marrow concentrate, adipose stromal vascular fraction, cord-derived MSCs, and corticosteroid found no superiority among the tested treatments at one year. [10,7]
The practical conclusion is that product, dose, delivery, diagnosis, and study design all matter. A paper about one cell product cannot certify the effectiveness of another clinic’s vial.
Beyond tissue source, patients will encounter terms such as purified and passage 3-5. Passage describes a step in cell-culture expansion. Purity concerns the composition of the resulting population. These describe different attributes; none is a universal quality seal.
An early-passage manufacturing strategy can be sensible, but the laboratory should explain its validated limits and show the results. P3 is not automatically more potent than P5, and “therapeutic dose” should mean a dose justified for the particular product, route, and intended use – not simply the largest number in the advertisement. [8,11]
In one early UC-MSC knee study, the 80-million-cell group did not outperform the lower-dose groups and experienced more injection-related swelling. The right dose is a clinical decision, not a contest to print the biggest number. [21]
Cell quality: identity, viability, purity, and potency
Think of a biologic’s specifications as answering separate questions:
| Measure | What it helps establish |
|---|---|
| Identity | Are these the cell or vesicle populations being claimed? |
| Viability | What proportion of the cells are alive, and when was that measured? |
| Purity | What else is present in the preparation? |
| Potency | Does an appropriate functional test show the biological activity being claimed? |
| Clinical evidence | Does a comparable product and protocol improve relevant patient outcomes? |
A live-cell percentage does not answer all five questions. Neither does a photograph of cells under a microscope. Potency testing is product-specific; it needs to assess the relevant biological activity. [22]
MSCs also release extracellular vesicles carrying molecular signals. Exosomes are one subtype; demonstrating that a preparation contains them requires more than measuring small particles. They are not living cells, so “exosome viability” is the wrong specification.
A particle counter can help measure size and concentration. It cannot, on its own, establish that every counted particle is an exosome, that the preparation is sufficiently pure, or that it delivers the promised biological activity. International EV research guidance calls for substantially more characterization. [12]
Ask about the parent MSC source, isolation method, identity evidence, contaminants, storage stability, and functional testing. The clinical evidence for many marketed exosome applications remains early. A bigger particle number cannot close that evidence gap.
Florida’s law did not make every “stem cell” offer FDA-approved
Florida permits certain unapproved stem-cell therapies in orthopedics, wound care, and pain management under specified conditions. Its law requires qualifying sourcing, manufacturing safeguards, disclosures, and a lot-specific post-thaw viability report. Those are meaningful requirements. [13]
They do not supply federal product approval. Culture-expanded UC-MSCs are not FDA-approved treatments for those orthopedic, anti-aging, or other broad regenerative uses, and there are no FDA-approved exosome products. Investigational and other limited access pathways require their own eligibility and documentation. [9,14]
Calling a supplier “FDA-registered” is not equivalent to saying its product is FDA-approved. Nor are unapproved products outside FDA jurisdiction: the agency continues to take enforcement action against cord-derived and exosome products marketed without required approvals. [14]
The question for a U.S. provider is straightforward: What legal pathway covers this exact product and this use? A price, a registration number, or a claim that “everyone is doing it” is not the answer.
The cost of compliance is mostly invisible
You can photograph an attractive clinic. It is harder to photograph a donor-screening program, a validated storage limit, or a batch that was rejected instead of administered.
Yet those are part of what patients should expect a serious manufacturing operation to fund: trained personnel, controlled facilities, qualified materials, cell banks, environmental monitoring, testing, equipment maintenance, documented deviations, and accountable batch release. WHO’s biologics manufacturing guidance addresses these underlying systems. [11]
That makes compliance a real operating cost. It does not make an expensive clinic automatically compliant. Ask to see the evidence behind the premium.
Start with the clinic’s authorization for the actual services offered and the manufacturer’s authorization for the relevant activities and products. Check the legal entity, address, scope, and validity dates with the appropriate health authority. A business registration is not a cellular-therapy authorization. A cell-bank license is not automatically a manufacturing license. GMP alignment, a GMP certificate, and product authorization are separate claims.
OmniStem’s documentation provides a concrete example. Its structure includes:
• A Ministry of Public Health-licensed clinic whose approved services expressly include cellular therapy.
• A separately licensed stem-cell bank.
• DIGEMAPS registration as a manufacturer of biotechnological medicines, specifically stem-cell medicines. [15]
These are specific documents patients can request and inspect. They support an institutional distinction that vague assurances about being “regulated” do not. They should not be mistaken for proof that every treatment works or that every product and indication has separately received marketing approval.
Does the clinic manufacture its own biologics?
This is an excellent question. Follow it with: “Can you show me how the manufacturer’s records connect to my treatment?”
OmniStem describes an integrated clinic-and-laboratory model producing UC-MSCs and MSC-derived exosomes in-house. The practical value of that arrangement is a direct line of responsibility between production, quality review, and the treating team. [6]
Other organizations deserve credit for investing in laboratory infrastructure and research. BioXcellerator describes its own on-site laboratory and cell bank; Panama’s Stem Cell Institute describes an integrated treatment-and-research group with Medistem Panama. These are meaningful commitments beyond simply reselling biologics. [16,4] OmniStem’s value proposition in the Dominican Republic is a documented chain of accountability: Ministry of Health authorizations covering the clinic, cell bank, and biologics manufacturing laboratory. For patients, that makes oversight tangible – and provides a firmer basis for assessing safety than a country’s reputation or a clinic’s marketing alone. [15]
An outside manufacturer can also supply a well-controlled product. What matters is whether the clinic qualifies that supplier, maintains traceability, controls transport and storage, and can produce the relevant release documents.
Owning a laboratory creates an opportunity for tighter control. The records establish whether that opportunity becomes reality.
Stem cell treatment abroad: travel, safety, and follow-up
The full bill includes more than injections: airfare, accommodation, local transport, diagnostics, time away from work, companion costs, and any return visits. Ask what happens if you are deemed unsuitable after arrival, treatment is postponed, or a complication requires hospital care.
Travel security deserves a factual comparison. As checked on September 22, 2026, the U.S. State Department lists the Dominican Republic and Panama at Level 2, Colombia at Level 3, and Mexico at Level 2 overall with substantial state-by-state differences. Higher-risk areas exist within these countries; national ratings do not describe every clinic’s neighborhood or every itinerary. [17-20]
Punta Cana’s established tourism infrastructure and OmniStem’s coordinated transport can be practical advantages. They are not a claim that the Dominican Republic is risk-free or categorically safer than every alternative. Compare the actual airport-to-clinic journey, emergency arrangements, and post-treatment support.
Before paying: six questions about your treatment and total cost
1. A precise product description. Source tissue, manufacturer, cell or vesicle identity, viable cell dose where applicable, route, and number of administrations.
2. The clinic and manufacturer authorizations. Issued by the appropriate authorities, with scope and dates -not simply logos or a company registration.
3. A sample CoA now and the appropriate lot documentation for your treatment. The certificate of analysis is the batch’s report card: it should identify the batch, methods, specifications, actual results, testing dates, and release authorization. Ask which tests are complete before dosing, which remain pending, and how release is justified.
4. An explanation of the evidence. Relevant human studies, realistic objectives, uncertainties, risks, alternatives, and how outcomes will be measured.
5. An itemized total. Biologics, procedures, imaging, supportive care, accommodation, transport, follow-up, and possible repeat treatments. An add-on should earn its place through a clinical rationale.
6. A named medical team and follow-up plan. Who decides suitability, who administers treatment, who responds after you return home, and what happens if something goes wrong?
If a bargain depends on leaving these questions unanswered, its price is too good to trust. If an expensive package cannot answer them either, the premium has not been justified.
The goal is to buy a documented product, an appropriate clinical plan, and accountable care. Sometimes that may be a relatively inexpensive local procedure. Sometimes it may justify a more involved program abroad.
Considering OmniStem? Request a physician-led case review and an itemized treatment proposal. Ask our team about the relevant licenses, biologic specifications, batch documentation, and follow-up. Those questions belong at the beginning of the conversation.
Treatment requires individualized medical evaluation. Benefits and risks depend on the product, indication, route, and patient; outcomes are not guaranteed. OmniStem’s therapies discussed here are not FDA-approved for these. uses.
Frequently asked questions
How much does stem cell therapy cost in Florida?
One Sarasota provider advertises $7,000-$8,000 for one joint or region and $10,000-$12,000 for multiple regions, using a fat-derived preparation with PRP. Its pricing article does not specify a viable MSC dose. The separate $800 PRP example is a platelet treatment, not a stem-cell product. [1,2]How much does stem cell therapy cost in Mexico?
Regenamex advertises $4,000 for IV administration of 100 million expanded Wharton’s jelly or placental MSCs, including airport and clinic transfers. Accommodation is priced separately. This is one provider’s offer, not a country-wide average. [3]How much does stem cell therapy cost in Panama?
Stem Cell Institute advertises adult treatment from $26,900, including ground transportation and a Hilton stay. Its starting-price page does not specify a fixed cell dose. [4]How much does stem cell therapy cost in Colombia?
BioXcellerator advertises treatment from $18,500. Pricing varies with cell quantity and procedures; the starting price does not define a standardized dose or complete travel package. [5]How much does stem cell therapy cost in the Dominican Republic?
OmniStem lists typical programs at $4,500-$25,000. The price depends on the condition, biologics, procedures, and supportive care. Request an itemized proposal and explicit travel inclusions. [6]What is a certificate of analysis, or CoA?
A CoA records batch testing. Ask for the batch identifier, methods, specifications, actual results, testing dates, and release authorization. Request a sample before committing and the appropriate lot documentation for your treatment, including an explanation of any tests still pending before dosing.
Does a higher stem cell count mean a better treatment?
A cell count alone does not establish identity, potency, or clinical effectiveness. The right dose depends on the product, route, and intended use; relevant clinical evidence matters more than the largest number in the advertisement. [7,10,21,22]Bibliography & source notes
- Advanced Orthopedic Center – Pricing.
- RegenOrtho – 10 FAQs About Stem Cell Therapy for Knee Pain. Source identification: RegenOrtho homepage. These are advertised prices and product descriptions, not an endorsement of the page’s efficacy or regulatory claims.
- Regenamex – Stem Cell Pricing. Advertised offer recorded for the draft: $4,000 for 100 million cells IV.
- Stem Cell Institute – How Much Does Stem Cell Therapy Cost?
- BioXcellerator – Is Stem Cell Therapy Expensive?
- OmniStem – Frequently Asked Questions. Pricing $4,500-$25,000 is the current public orientation range, not the older confidential 2025 price guide. Manufacturing descriptions are OmniStem’s representations.
- Mautner K, et al. Cell-based versus corticosteroid injections for knee pain in osteoarthritis: a randomized phase 3 trial. Nature Medicine. 2023;29:3120-3126. 480 randomized; 440 in primary endpoint analysis.
- Marleau AM, et al. Critical evaluation of compositions and clinical relevance of Wharton’s jelly-derived biologics. Journal of Translational Medicine. 2026;24:189. Small commercial-sample laboratory analysis; industry funding and author relationships disclosed. Its proposed dosing thresholds are not treated here as universal clinical standards.
- FDA Approved Cellular and Gene Therapy Products and Ryoncil. Ryoncil is a bone-marrow-derived allogeneic MSC product for steroid-refractory acute graft-versus-host disease in pediatric patients aged two months and older; it is not a UC-MSC approval for orthopedic or longevity use.
- Matas J, et al. Umbilical Cord-Derived Mesenchymal Stromal Cells for Knee Osteoarthritis: Repeated MSC Dosing Is Superior to a Single MSC Dose and to Hyaluronic Acid in a Controlled Randomized Phase I/II Trial. Stem Cells Translational Medicine. 2019;8:215-224. Small trial; no MRI advantage.
- WHO. Good manufacturing practices for biological products. WHO Technical Report Series 999, Annex 2, 2016. Project-supplied standards document; cell-bank, passage-control, manufacturing, and quality-control sections. This is a standards source, not certification of OmniStem’s implementation.
- Welsh JA, et al. Minimal information for studies of extracellular vesicles (MISEV2023): From basic to advanced approaches. Journal of Extracellular Vesicles. 2024;13:e12404. Research guidance, not a product approval or clinical efficacy finding.
- Florida Statutes §458.3245. State permissions and federal requirements are distinct.
- FDA. Blue Horizon International warning letter, May 26, 2026; Consumer Alert on Regenerative Medicine Products Including Stem Cells and Exosomes; Invitrx Therapeutics warning letter, November 9, 2022. The older consumer alert predates the Ryoncil approval; consult the current approved-product list.
- Dominican Ministry of Public Health / DHSES / DIGEMAPS. Signed OmniStem clinical, stem-cell bank, and biotechnology-manufacturer authorization documents supplied by OmniStem. Documents reviewed for the draft; no independent suspension or revocation registry check. The manufacturer classification concerns stem-cell medicines and does not establish an exosome-specific product approval or GMP certification.
- BioXcellerator – About and on-site laboratory. Provider representation.
- U.S. State Department – Dominican Republic. Level 2; June 12, 2025 advisory.
- U.S. State Department – Panama. Level 2; August 19, 2026 advisory; designated areas Level 4.
- U.S. State Department – Colombia. Level 3; March 31, 2026 advisory; designated areas Level 4.
- U.S. State Department – Mexico. Overall Level 2; May 29, 2026 advisory; state-level differences and itinerary-specific restrictions.
- Matas J, et al. A Phase I Dose-Escalation Clinical Trial to Assess the Safety and Efficacy of Umbilical Cord-Derived Mesenchymal Stromal Cells in Knee Osteoarthritis. Stem Cells Translational Medicine. 2024;13:193-203. Early cohorts of 2M, 20M, and 80M; not evidence of an optimal dose for every product or patient.
- FDA. Potency Tests for Cellular and Gene Therapy Products. Final guidance, January 2011. Potency measurements are designed for the specific product; the guidance does not prescribe universal assay types or acceptance criteria.
- Ennis J, Götherström C, Le Blanc K, Davies JE. In vitro immunologic properties of human umbilical cord perivascular cells. Cytotherapy. 2008;10(2):174-181. DOI: 10.1080/14653240801891667. Perivascular-specific laboratory evidence of reduced lymphocyte proliferation and T-cell activation; suppression across a membrane supports a contribution from soluble factors. The study found a similar immunologic phenotype to bone-marrow MSCs, not superior clinical outcomes.
- Tipnis S, Viswanathan C, Majumdar AS. Immunosuppressive properties of human umbilical cord-derived mesenchymal stem cells: role of B7-H1 and IDO. Immunology and Cell Biology. 2010;88(8):795-806. DOI: 10.1038/icb.2010.47. UC-MSC laboratory study, not a perivascular-specific clinical trial. Baseline absence of HLA-DR/CD80/CD86, T-cell suppression, and changes after IFN-γ exposure; inhibition was largely contact-dependent in this experimental system, with some activity in cell-free supernatant. Does not establish zero immune recognition or guaranteed persistence in patients.
- Galleu A, et al. Apoptosis in mesenchymal stromal cells induces in vivo recipient-mediated immunomodulation. Science Translational Medicine. 2017;9(416):eaam7828. DOI: 10.1126/scitranslmed.aam7828. Mechanistic experiments and a small graft-versus-host disease patient cohort link recipient cytotoxic activity and MSC clearance to immune modulation. This is broader MSC evidence, not proof of OmniStem product behavior or a universal mechanism across regenerative indications.
- Stolzing A, Jones E, McGonagle D, Scutt A. Age-related changes in human bone marrow-derived mesenchymal stem cells: consequences for cell therapies. Mechanisms of Ageing and Development. 2008;129(3):163-173. DOI: 10.1016/j.mad.2007.12.002. Human donor-cell study supporting age-associated changes in MSC fitness; not a clinical comparison of autologous treatment with UC-MSC treatment.
- Batsali AK, et al. Differential expression of cell cycle and WNT pathway-related genes accounts for differences in the growth and differentiation potential of Wharton’s jelly and bone marrow-derived mesenchymal stem cells. Stem Cell Research & Therapy. 2017;8:102. 18 donors per source; passage-2 population-doubling times 1.88 versus 3.88 days. Greater WJ-MSC expansion did not mean superiority on every measure: senescence characteristics were similar, while BM-MSCs performed better on certain differentiation and hematopoietic-support measures. These were WJ preparations, not a validation of OmniStem’s specific perivascular product.
- Andrzejewska A, et al. Multi-Parameter Analysis of Biobanked Human Bone Marrow Stromal Cells Shows Little Influence for Donor Age and Mild Comorbidities on Phenotypic and Functional Properties. Frontiers in Immunology. 2019;10:2474. Adult and elderly cohorts had similar measured function; culture aging affected properties independently of donor age. This prevents treating chronological age as a universal potency test.
- Bárcia RN, et al. What Makes Umbilical Cord Tissue-Derived Mesenchymal Stromal Cells Superior Immunomodulators When Compared to Bone Marrow Derived Mesenchymal Stromal Cells? Stem Cells International. 2015;2015:583984. Laboratory and animal research on a particular UCX preparation; stronger immune suppression and regulatory T-cell induction in the tested comparisons. Partly funded by ECBio, which held related patent rights. Not a clinical trial or evidence about OmniStem’s own product.
- Gao L, et al. Bone Marrow-Derived Mesenchymal Stem Cells From Patients With Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Have a Senescence-Associated Secretory Phenotype Mediated by a Mitochondrial Antiviral Signaling Protein-Interferon-β Feedback Loop. Arthritis & Rheumatology. 2017;69(8):1623-1635. DOI: 10.1002/art.40142. Six lupus patients and six healthy controls; mechanistic evidence of altered patient MSC function, not proof that all autologous MSCs are defective or that donor MSCs cure lupus.
- Petrou P, et al. Beneficial effects of autologous mesenchymal stem cell transplantation in active progressive multiple sclerosis. Brain. 2020;143(12):3574-3588. DOI: 10.1093/brain/awaa333. Small randomized trial, 48 patients; promising short-term results require confirmation. Culture-expanded autologous marrow MSCs with intravenous or intrathecal administration are distinct from same-day marrow concentrate.
- Uccelli A, et al. Safety, tolerability, and activity of mesenchymal stem cells versus placebo in multiple sclerosis (MESEMS): a phase 2, randomised, double-blind crossover trial. The Lancet Neurology. 2021;20(11):917-929. DOI: 10.1016/S1474-4422(21)00301-X. 144 patients; IV autologous marrow MSCs did not improve the primary MRI endpoint at 24 weeks. This finding does not establish ineffectiveness in every autoimmune condition or under every protocol.
- Deng D, et al. A randomised double-blind, placebo-controlled trial of allogeneic umbilical cord-derived mesenchymal stem cell for lupus nephritis. Annals of the Rheumatic Diseases. 2017;76(8):1436-1439. DOI: 10.1136/annrheumdis-2017-211073. 18 patients receiving standard immunosuppressive therapy; no demonstrated additional benefit from the tested UC-MSC protocol. Not evidence that every UC-MSC application is ineffective.
- Baksh D, Yao R, Tuan RS. Comparison of Proliferative and Multilineage Differentiation Potential of Human Mesenchymal Stem Cells Derived from Umbilical Cord and Bone Marrow. Stem Cells. 2007;25(6):1384-1392. Perivascular-specific laboratory comparison finding greater proliferation and faster osteogenic differentiation. Small donor sample; tissue source and donor age differed together. This does not isolate age as the cause or establish superior clinical outcomes.
